First Prize: International Competition on Cultural Landscape in Bhutan 2014

The Department of Culture within the Ministry of Home and Cultural Affairs, Royal Government of Bhutan organized the first International Competition on Cultural Landscape over ten days in August 2014 in Thimpu, Bhutan. Diverse institutions were convened to share and develop educational, policy and practical strategies to advance the agenda of cultural landscapes with the purpose of safeguarding and ensuring sustainability for present and future generations. The program was funded by the Oriental Cultural Heritage Sites Protection Alliance, Paris and supported by the UNESCO World Heritage Centre and the UNESCO New Delhi Office.

Four contestant teams consisting of three students and a professor/lecturer from reputable universities of architecture, town planning, and archeology were invited to participate in the competition. Each team was given a brief to develop an innovative cultural landscape proposal for the 17- household Bhutanese village of Rinchhending-Shari chiwog of Dopsharri gewog in Paro. The submitted proposals were judged on their interpretation of historic and cultural values of the case settlement, development plans for promoting better living conditions and a sustainable environment, and strategies to enhance cultural landscape preservation.

Four international experts; Professor Shun Kanda, Ph.D., from the School of Architecture and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Professor Yukio Nishimura, Ph.D., from the Department of Urban Engineering, the University of Tokyo, Assistant Professor Niramon Kulsrisombat, Ph.D., from the Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Chulalongkorn University, and Professor Roland LIN Chih-Hung, Ph.D., from UNESCO as well as eleven national members including senior bureaucrats and representatives from agencies that play a crucial role in sustaining the cultural landscape of Bhutan, judged the competition.

Team members:

Chulalongkorn 1 (First Prize): Sarayut Supsook, Veeris Vanichtantikul, Sirorat Sitthitham, and Naphat Theeraumpornpunt
Chulalongkorn 2: Assistant Professor Waricha Wongphyat, Ph.D., Arus Angchuan, Ratima Lueangwattanakit, Rungfa Thavornvisitporn